The ‘pets’ of Magic: The Gathering

Magic: The Gathering is absolutely rammed pack with all kinds of weird and funky creatures.

That’s why for this post I’ve decided to write about the ‘pets’ of the multiverse. I use the term ‘pets’ loosely, as a lot of the cards I’m going to talk about aren’t technically pets but I still think they’d make pretty good companions.

To rate some of these creatures I’ve decided to use a ranking system which will be based on: cuteness, abilities, card design, and overall rating. There’s probably a lot more that I could rate them on but I thought best to keep it more condensed (and to control my habit of rambling too much).

Without further ado, let’s look at some of MTG’s best pets!

#1 Promise (or Gideon’s Promise) from War of the Spark.

Promise is a good ol’ boy who is ridden by Gideon Jura into battle against Nicol Bolas. The pegasus appears on two cards in this set (“Trusted Pegasus” was also reprinted for Core Set 20?? the only difference with the reprint is that the flavour text wasn’t included).
The flavour text on “Trusted Pegasus” is a really nice interaction between Gideon and Promise while hell is breaking loose on Ravnica. Gideon asks Promise “Would you give your life to save this world?”, a question which I think he is almost asking himself – is he ready to die to save this world?
Unfortunately, Promise gets shot down by the sneaky Oketra which ultimately answers Gideon’s question that yes, they were ready to give their life. Rest in peace good horse boy, Rakdos finished the job for you don’t worry!

Ratings 
Cuteness: 10/10 majestic as heck – look at the swanky armour!
Abilities: 9/10 for being a flying horse. It would have been 10 but they got shot down which is a bit of a problem. Otherwise very useful than your bog-standard horse!
Card design: 8/10. I like the art for both of the cards Promise appears on. However, something about the colours used on the “Divine Arrow” card doesn’t appeal that much to me.
Overall pet rating: 5/10 would have Promise as a pet if I didn’t have a fear of horses. Don’t judge me, those things are scary up close.

 

#2 “Pouncing Lynx” from WAR. (a.k.a. Leopold)

This card was included because I liked how it showed what the ‘normal’ creatures of Ravnica behaved during the war. I love the idea that this massive cat could be kept as a house pet and that such massive pets would definitely be the norm on this bat-shit crazy plane. Flavour-wise, being old that this lynx is “normally so well behaved” because you totally expect to see a guy walking his apex predator down the street.

Ratings
Cuteness: 4/10. He’s a cute boy, but he looks like he’s gonna eat me so maybe not.
Abilities: 7/10. Looks like he could definitely protect his owner if he doesn’t eat them first.
Card design: 10/10. The art show’s him playing up when he’s normally well behaved. I think that the colours on this card are lovely too.
Overall pet rating: 6/10. If I could see what this cat was like well behaved and because I’m more of a dog person.

 

#3 “Kiora’s Dambreaker” from WAR. (a.k.a. Mr Snuggles)

When Kiora decided to join the party on Ravnica she brought her massive pet leviathan with her. Move aside Ariel with your fish and crab, a massive leviathan is where it’s at! I like to think that Kiora has a whole pack of these massive creatures which she takes for walkies (or swimmies?).

Ratings
Cuteness: 7/10. As sea creatures go this one is definitely badass, might be a bit hard to give cuddles to but you can still give it a try.
Abilities: 8/10. Let’s be honest, this bugger is going to do a shit tonne of damage to anything, this thing cannot do anything gently. But that’s why it’s a leviathan! It’s made for destruction and to chomp on things, so it does what it says on the tin really.
Card design: 10/10. Really awesome art. We really get a scale of how big this leviathan is, especially with Kiora standing on their head. Looks just like I would expect a leviathan to look like.
Overall pet rating: 7/10. Would keep as a pet but I can’t swim very well so wouldn’t be the ideal pet for me.

 

#4 “Ilharg, the Raze-Boar” from WAR.

I know what you’re thinking. Ilharg couldn’t possibly be a pet. That, my friend, is where you’re wrong!
Ilharg is more like an American football mascot for the Gruul clan, and is respected by all of those in the clan and therefore gets all the love and attention as he razes parts of Ravnica. I also play Gruul a lot on MTG: Arena and Ilharg is but one of the good boys who always comes in clutch.

Ratings
Cuteness: 4/10. Because all the horns make it difficult for head scratches. I also think the glowing eyes might scare me at night.
Abilities: 10/10. With me being extremely biased that Boar God helps you destroy pretty much anything you want to.
Card design: 10/10. I love how you can see the Gruul warriors in the background losing their shit over this pig showing up.
Overall pet rating: 9/10 mascot material.

 

#5 “Raging Kronch” from WAR (a.k.a. Daisy)

Here we have one angry girl ready to send anything in its path flying. The kronch wrangler “Dhuuz” seems to be enjoying himself too on both of these cards, with the “Kronch Wrangler” card saying “Looking over two city blocks of destruction, he could only cackle with pride”. It’s like when you’ve taught your dog a trick and they’ve perfected it and you are immensely proud. I like to think that this Kronch is called “Daisy”, she looks like a Daisy.

Ratings: 
Cuteness: 4/10. I won’t lie it’s pretty ugly. She would probably smell too.
Abilities: 9/10. She’s already left two city blocks in Ravnica in ruins and looks terrifying doing it.
Card design: 8/10. A typical Gruul creature, big, lots of horns, looks angry.
Overall pet rating: 6/10. Reminds me of a cow that I would attempt to pet before deciding that’s a bad idea.

 

#6 “Arlinn’s Wolf” from WAR.

As a dog person, I have a weakness for dogs and wolves, Arlinn’s Wolf included. Arlinn is one of the best planeswalkers purely because she’s always surrounded by wolves which something I can only dream of. She can even communicate with wolves which is even better because I can imagine dogs/wolves can say some really dumb things.

Ratings: 
Cuteness: 10/10. I like dogs.
Abilities: 9/10. Really does look like they are going to rip out someone’s throat as Arlinn says on the card. Would still cuddle.
Card design: 9/10. Again the colours are beautiful on this card, I also like that Arlinn’s in the background looking intimidating as hell.
Overall pet rating: 10/10. Looks like a good doggo. I feel a wolf deck coming on.

 

#6 “Filigree Familiar” from Kaladesh.

I had to include this artifact creature because it’s the cutest thing I’ve ever seen (I even have this card pinned above my desk). This particular card reminds me of those toy robot dogs you could get when I was a kid in the 90s and I love it.

Image result for toy robot dog

Ratings: 
Cuteness: 10/10. Looks adorable and I would own about 10 of them.
Abilities: 8/10. Anything it does it’s gonna look cute doing it.
Card design: 10/10. I’m in love with the silver and blue colour scheme paired with the amazing swirl designs you see in the Kaladesh set.
Overall pet rating: 10/10. The perfect pet.

 

#7 Mowu!

Jiang Yanggu (GS1)
Another good boy! This doggo is Jiang Yanggu’s loyal companion with the pair frequently appearing on cards together. Mowu has a smol form which you can see in the Jiang planeswalker card, and he has a large form which we can see on the other two cards. Either way, this dog is the perfect companion who you can cuddle and can trust to rip apart your enemies.

Ratings: 
Cuteness: 10/10. Especially on the planeswalker card because he just looks so happy! Let me love you!
Abilities: 10/10. Adaptable in size, can maul a variety of sizes.
Card design: 10/10. Mowus design is something that brings me joy.
Overall pet rating: 10/10. Best boy. I hope we get to see him again soon.

 

#8 Huatli’s Raptor (a.k.a. Dash)

I also have a weakness for dinosaurs. Especially Huatli’s Raptor which I have decided to nickname dash on account of being a fast boy. When Huatli appears on cards she usually has a dinosaur with her, which looks like a perfect pet for this dinosaur lady.

Ratings: 
Cuteness: 9/10. Dinosaurs always look cool, this raptor has feathers too which just adds to the cuteness!
Abilities: 8/10. Does raptor things – runs fast, bites things.
Card design: 9/10. The cards that the raptor appears to show different sides to the raptor but is always kept consistent over sets. I love the red feathers too.
Overall pet rating: 9/10. Would have for a pet if dinosaurs didn’t want to eat me.

 

Honourable mentions

 

 

 

“Imaginary Pet”. The flavour for this card is simply amazing. Of course, you can keep the creature which looks like something out of my nightmares.

 

 

 

 

 

“Squirrel-Powered Scheme”. I don’t know what’s going on in this card but I bloody love it. Who wouldn’t want to be a mad scientist surrounded by squirrels?

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Initiates Companion”. This card has completely relatable flavour text, especially with cats.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Jhoira’s Familiar” because just look at those eyes it’s so cute! I think I’ve found out from writing this post that I really like artifact creatures in MTG.

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Chandra’s Embercat”. Chandra’s kitty looks cute, but think about the consequences. Chandra says “Try dealing with fireballs” – this cat is going to set everything on fire, even you (unless you can control fire).

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Zodiac Dog”. I decided to include this card because it almost looks like my mums’ old dog and I love it. The flavour text to me doesn’t make complete sense (I’m sure it’s related to the older sets or the zodiac) but the art alone showing a good boy gives it 10/10.

 

 

 

So there we go, a brief list of some of the ‘pets’ you can find in MTG. I’m sure that there are many more weird and wonderful creatures, but since I’m still relatively new to the game the more recent sets are the ones which I look to first. But my knowledge is steadily increasing the more I learn!

Thank you for reading this post and I hoped you enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed writing it. Next on my list is probably to explore a specific creature over different planes, for example, goblins, and explore their multi-plane existence.
In the meantime, if you fancy wanting to learn more about MTG’s lore I recommend watching TCGplayer’s Youtube video’s (specifically the Magic Arcanum playlists) as Ryan Gomez explains stories and characters so wonderfully and has really encouraged my exploration of the lore.

See you soon!

 

 

Leave a comment